I’ll stick with Mario Cart

[English 2000]

I have recently began to put my nose up to digital arts. Coming from a graphic design student/part-time photographer could be coined blasphemous, but hear me out. I like my computer, social media, and camera as much as the next guy (or gal). Here lately, the digital tools/arts have been put on a pedestal and the physical aspect of art has been recycled with everything else these days. What is so wrong with grabbing a paintbrush and throwing some paint on a canvas?

I came across an article promoting video games stating, “video games can change a person’s brain and, as researchers are finding, often that change is for the better”. The author must have been a video junkie, because this theory just does not make sense to me. Someone glued to a tv or computer screen for hours at a time, tiring their eyes out to goo and slowly getting carpal tunnel in their hands does not sound beneficial to me.

The author continues on stating that tests were done and the results show that, “People who played action-based video and computer games made decisions 25% faster than others without sacrificing accuracy”. I cannot disagree with that point. I can see how it would improve decision-making, but I would rather not sacrifice my brain to gain that skill. The article is not totally for video games because it also states the negative aspect of playing video games habitually.

Electronic gameplay has its downside. Brain scans show that violent video games can alter brain function in healthy young men after just a week of play, depressing activity among regions associated with emotional control, researchers at Indiana University recently reported. Other studies have found an association between compulsive gaming and being overweight, introverted and prone to depression.

Often time video games are violent and promoting a gang-like lifestyle. Take Grand Theft Auto for example. The gamer steals cars, beats up women and men, and runs from the police. It’s constantly going against society. Eventually, the gamer starts lashing out in real life forgetting what reality is. This article promoted video gaming for the most part and ended with hopes for new revelations in order to incorporate video game like software into schools.

If the next generation of young people start out in elementary school constantly doing work through video games or expanding their creativity that way, I have a feeling homeschooling will become quite popular. Children should go to school to learn from a teacher and books not a computer generated figure or video game. Call me old school, but we have to lay anti-physical media people!

One thought on “I’ll stick with Mario Cart

  1. I believe in old school when it comes to human interaction. I don’t believe in the banking method of education, such as teachers not promoting critical thinking, but I do believe in the importance of social interactions is such a dominant digital age.

    I loved playing Mario Cart! I wish video games were simple and innocent like these, rather than the violent ones that promote killing as fun and exciting. I think those studies are very misleading!

Leave a Reply

