Zuckerburg say what?

[English 2000, digital media & culture]

While visiting the Yahoo! homepage, I came across this particularly disturbing article. The titled yelled “Facebook Timeline Mandatory”. Excuse me, what was that? Mandatory? There are reasons I chose not to switch to Facebook’s new face. I like the old set up just fine. It is easily navigated and is a bit simpler than the new timeline layout.

Starting this morning, the new Timeline feature — that up until now has been an optional switch — is now mandatory.

I have read many unkind statuses aimed toward Zuckerberg for the new face of Facebook. I understand that as a social network Facebook has to continue striving for the next big thing in order to stay on top, but is it necessary to one up the competition when the face is perfectly fine already? As if Facebook was not stalker friendly enough. With the new timeline feature you can go back to all the dirty laundry ever posted with a simple click. There is no more hassle of scrolling for what seems to be hours through wall photos and pointless statuses.

Not only does my dirty laundry get put on the line for easy access, but I am now forced to succumb to what is popular by Facebook. I no longer have the choice to sit back and stick with my “old-fashioned” styled layout. Besides the schoolwork and tax season coming up, I now have to find the perfect cover photo for the obnoxiously large welcome space of the new layout. Are you trying to kill me Facebook??

I am not happy Mark Zuckerberg, not one bit! I should learn from Google and Wikipedia and blackout my Facebook for a day. But then again, you probably would just change that without my permission too.

5 thoughts on “Zuckerburg say what?

  1. Hi Kristen,
    You raise some great points in your post. I must admit I really don’t add much to my personal profile so I’m not particularly concerned regarding changes to that. I am keen to know though, do the changes apply to business pages as well? I am keen to know the answer to that.
    Cheers, Caylie

Leave a Reply

