daily bread

It’s hard to be satisfied in Him. It’s hard to be full in Christ, especially when I quench my Spirit. I allow myself to be distracted away from the love He wants to pour onto me. Do you, as a Christian, ever feel drained and ready to give up? Isn’t that a crazy thought? I’m guilty of having it though. It’s crazy to think I would be drained from this amazing gift of grace He freely gave me. How selfish does that make me? I had to have a reality check and realize “sister, it’s not because of the Christian life that i’m drained, it’s because of the lack of life, i’m drained.” The moment I step out from underneath is love, my Spirit is quenched. I’m holding back all oxygen and life from it. Before going to sleep last night, I open Beth Moore’s “Breaking Free”. The chapter I left off of just so happened to be titled The Fullness of Unfailing Love. I knew before even reading the intro. this would be a wake up call from the big man above. I’m not going to lie my first thought was “awwwwe mannnn…” It’s not fun getting a wake up call from God. Partially because He’s not like my earthly father. I can’t cutesy my way out of it. The entire chapter was about finding satisfaction in Him. Coincidence? I think not! She opened up her key points with this prayer from Paul:

When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth.I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.  And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.  May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.  Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:14-21

This prayer wasn’t new to me. I discovered it in Prague through a sermon on Love by Francis Chan. That sermon resonated with me so much. Being overseas for a long amount of time starts to get at you. I was away from comforts, family, and my closest friends. The one thing I wasn’t away from was Christ and His love. Seeing Paul’s heart through his prayer challenged me. I began to pray that same prayer for my team and my family. I wanted to know understand His love and I wanted others to experience it. After making that my prayer for the rest of the summer, I tangibly felt a change. I was still ready see my family, but I was content in Him.

I’ve said all that to say this, fullness in Him comes from His love. I’ve got to learn to wake up with vigor and freedom. There is no condemnation in Christ so when I have thoughts of giving up I can’t be ashamed. I have to boast in my weaknesses and allow Him to do His job. The moment I quench my Spirit I give voice to Satan. This doesn’t mean his is victorious over Christ. It means that i’ve allowed Him to enter my mind and feed my thoughts.

Each morning, I’m challenging myself to pray Paul’s prayer of God’s love. I challenge you to do the same and take note of the love and fullness He pours on you.

Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love, so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives. Psalm 94:10

Leave a Reply

