simple stranger

{I took these photos during my trip to New Orleans. I used my Canon AE-1 film camera}

Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13:2

Have you ever walked past a stranger, exchanged smiles, and felt a little happiness after? What is it about receiving a smile from a complete stranger that sheds a little light in your life? I’ll speak from my point of view about the happiness I feel when that special smile is exchanged. I may be over analyzing this a bit too much, but my minds explores the reasons as to why a person who has no idea who I am and what I am about decides to look me in the eye and smile. I like to think they see something different in me. Maybe it’s God smiling at me through another life following Him. Maybe that person sees a light in me and feels a sense of comfort. I like to think they see the light of Him through me. I believe the eyes are windows to a person’s soul. It makes sense to look someone in the eye and feel a light or a darkness. There are few things in life that bring me simple joy. I’m not talking about the normal things that make me happy like going on missions or finding the perfect outfit. I’m referring to the simple coincidences in life that are normally over looked. Little things like chunks of cocoa powder in my hot chocolate, a baby’s laughter, or in this case an exchange of smiles with a stranger. What are the simple things in life that make you smile?

Leave a Reply

