i do

{side note: Marriage is a topic I personally know very little about. Don’t take my advice, but I challenge you to research the Bible for yourself}

When I was younger, I rarely daydreamed about a prince charming coming to scoop me up. I don’t recall ever wanting a husband or children of my own. The only childhood crushes I can think of were Leonardo DiCaprio via Growing Pains and the blonde teenager from Barney circa 1995. It’s not that I was a man hater, that’s not it at all.The older I became the more I envisioned myself living in a loft in uptown New York. Not changing diapers or cooking dinner. I wanted to establish myself as an artist/business woman. At the age of 13, I dreamed of being a fashion designer, but I look back now and realize I had ZERO taste. That dream was shot down fast. When I was a sophomore in high school, something in me changed. For starters, I began following Christ whole-heartedly. Through that change He began to soften my heart. I had a desire to have a family of my own one day. I was finally having a desire to find a husband, my one and only. I would read the story of Adam and Eve and instantly come to the conclusion that God wanted all people to be married. I quickly found out that wasn’t the case. Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 7 that it is a privilege to be single. Christ was single and He was able to serve His Father whole-heartedly. There were no distractions to pull his attention away. When I read that passage, my mindset changed…again. I was back to being pro-single. At least, that is what my mouth was saying. My heart continued to daydream about what marriage really is like, how my wedding would look, and what it would be like to chase around my very own children. Why was this happening when the Bible states that being single is a privilege and to embrace it. Here’s my theory. In Genesis 2, God refers to Eve as Adam’s helper.

But for Adam no suitable helper was found. So the LORD God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh.  Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.  The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” Genesis 2:21-23

They helped each other. They challenged and loved each other. They walked with God together. There weren’t any cars, houses, or bank accounts distracting them. They were simply doing what God created them for. Today’s society, myself included, has such  twisted view of marriage. Girls want guys with big bank accounts. Someone who can “provide” for them. Whether that be a new vehicle or a shiny diamond ring. Marriage is a blessing from God and should not be centered around temporal things. I’ve realized in the past year that God desire’s for a man and a woman to be in a union that represents the relationship between Christ and the church. Undying love. He wants a couple to challenge each other and push each other further in their walk. No doubt He wants the man to provide, but speaking from a females perspective we sometimes have a warped view of what provisions actually are. As a woman of God, I am supposed to desire a man that seeks God before me. Not his job or money, but God. After all, that’s all that will stand in the end. When everything fails- job, money, and eventually good looks; God stands.

4 thoughts on “i do

  1. Glad to see a young woman looking to the Bible for marriage advice and not MTV!! God knows the true desires of your heart and will gladly bestow those on you as you unashamedly, unselfishly, wholeheartedly pursue Him!!!

  2. I love this Kristen! All of it. I used to be the same way, driven & sure marriage wasn’t in the picture for me, but as I began to pursue God He very quickly softened my heart. It makes me sad when I talk to girls whose view of marriage is completely skewed. Your blog makes me really happy that smart girls are getting the truth out there :)

Leave a Reply

