Gnocchi with Chicken and Pesto {Recipe}

One of the best things about living in an apartment is cooking my own dinners. It’s so much fun to experiment and practice recipes. I also love knowing what goes into my dinner. It’s super sketch eating out because I have no idea what goes into my meal. I’ve been wanting to post about our dinners for a while, but I have been busy with school and other responsibilities. On this post, I’ll share the recipe I followed tonight.

Go from this:

To this:

Okay so I know the main dish doesn’t look so tasty through this crappy image, but I must say it was DELICIOUS. I’ve had a huge craving for Gnocchi ever since I got back from Prague. When my mom came in town the other day, we bought a pack of Gnocchi. I wasn’t sure what kind of sauce I wanted to pair with it so I googled a few. I came across a vegetable medley pesto sauce. I changed it up a bit, but I kept the basics.

Here we go. You need:

  • 1 yellow bell-pepper
  • 1/2 of a red onion
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 chicken breast
  • tomato sauce
  • pesto sauce
  • lemon juice & other spices

The whole process takes about 45 minutes to complete. This fed four girls and I had enough left overs to feed two more. Start by chopping up all of the veggies and chicken. Sauté the chicken first with a little bit of olive oil. Add your favorite spices. I put in lemon pepper, red pepper, minced garlic, and salt. Add the onions next to the flavor can cook into the chicken. Wait until the onions are partially cooked then add the peppers and zucchini. Let that sauté for about ten minutes then add two tablespoons of pesto and a tablespoon of garlic. Once everything is cooked down add the tomato sauce to warm it up. You can add that close to the last thing because it doesn’t need to be cooked just warmed up.

To cook the gnocchi, I just followed the directions on the package. I boiled them until they floated to the top. It took around 3 minutes. When they were done, I drained them and combined them with the sauce. Stir the gnocchi in and let it all simmer on low for about ten minutes.

You can add whatever sides you want to the dish, but that is how you make the gnocchi with pesto tomato sauce. Let me know if you have any advice or if you try the recipe! I hope you all enjoy it. Click on these links for other great recipes with gnocchi >> Sage Butter Sauce, Basil Cream Sauce, and Tomato Sauce.

One thought on “Gnocchi with Chicken and Pesto {Recipe}

Leave a Reply

