Breaking Free v. 3 {lack of communication}

I’m sorry I’ve been lacking in posting about my journey with Breaking Free. I’ve been distracted and busy, but I have been journaling like crazy so this is more of a reflection post on what I’ve learned. Remember when I said there are 5 obstacles in the way of allowing God to set you free? If not, i’ll remind you what they are:

  1. pride
  2. prayerlessness
  3. unbelief
  4. idolatry
  5. legalism

Those 5 obstacles are detrimental in many ways to being set free. Two that I have looked further into so far are prayerlessness and idolatry. The more I read about these two subjects the more I was convicted. If I put something ahead of God it means I’m trying to find satisfaction in that object. This doesn’t seem so bad right? Well I’m basically telling God that He is not good enough for me. Rather than seeking the Creator have looked to the creation. I’m wasting my time trying to find satisfaction in things that can’t possibly satisfy the void the only God can fill. This is huge. God desires us to run to Him when things are going great and when things are not so great. He wants us to seek Him rather than something else.

Such a person feeds on ashes; a deluded heart misleads him; he cannot save himself, or say,
“Is not this thing in my right hand a lie?” Isaiah 44:20

That verse hits home to me. I worry and fuss with so many “ashes” (purposeless things of this world) rather than accept the truth and freedom Christ has waiting for me.

Onto prayerlessness. Reading this convicted me so much. How do I expect to have a relationship with God without actual communication with Him. I can read and study all I want, but that doesn’t make up for a rich prayer life with my God. I have sat down and wondered why things have been going the way they are, but it wasn’t until I read this chapter that I realized I’m lacking in prayer. It’s not that I’m being punished because of my lack of prayer. Any relationship is built on solid communication. What makes this relationship any different? God desires for His children to talk to Him. He desires that I come to Him with my concerns and needs even though He already knows them. Here are three areas in our lives that become targets when there is a lack in prayer:

  • Discipline– Even though you make think you have self-control and discipline that can fly right out of the window when prayer is lacking and satan is attacking. Trust me!
  • Lessons from the past– We get so distracted with what is going on and the battle that we are fighting; we forget what God has taught us in the past.
  • What’s best for us– Our human nature is too self-destructive to choose what is best for us during times of vulnerability.

As I read this it all started to make sense. The frustration and vulnerability I’ve been experiencing is due to a lack in communication with the One that provides life and security. So I’ve challenged myself. In order to hold myself accountable with maintaining a healthy prayer life, I’ve made a list of prayer requests. I think of it as a map for my prayers. It’s easy to get lost in a prayer and just ramble or push it aside. With a list at hand, I can remember what is going on in my life that needs prayer and I can look back to see what God has answered. I challenge you to do the same!

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

3 thoughts on “Breaking Free v. 3 {lack of communication}

Leave a Reply

