Breaking Free v.1 {baby steps}

Freedom.

{found here}

There is liberation with just saying that word. I look forward to what God will be teaching me in reading this study. During the first few chapters of the book, I learned that there are five major categories of captivity: idolatry, legalism, pride, prayerlessness, and unbelief. If I don’t let these five specific things go in my life and allow God to work in me, I will be in bondage spiritually and physically throughout my walk with Him. I have found myself in each of these categories. It’s hard to understand sometimes because I want to be filled with God fully. I want to find my complete satisfaction in Him, but why do I continue to turn to those five detrimental categories?

Idolatry: one of the most evident downfalls of mine. Being the complete technology nut I am, my camera, iPhone, and MacBook become the center of my attention without any effort. I try to sugarcoat it by saying “But I’m using these things for God’s glory!” In a way, sure I am! I use this blog as a platform to my faith. I am able to minister via email to friends I’ve made from all over the world. I take photographs so that through my talent God is glorified. I mean it seems like all great things right? Wrong. I am guilty of wanting to spend more time with my worldly possessions over time with the One who created them. Another idol I’ve recently realized I have is my body. I care way to much about my body. Not praising it, rather constantly trying to fix it. I have to allow God to change my heart and mind.

They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen. Romans 1:25

Legalism: All though I don’t claim to be legalistic; I find myself sometimes doing good things to overpower negative thoughts I’ve had. I find myself thinking that if I overdose on the good things the negative aspects of my life will fall away. That’s a lie straight from Satan. There is nothing I can do more of for God to love me anymore than He already does.

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39

Pride: Do I even need to go into this one? Actually the better question is am I willing to go into this category? Well I guess I have to now because it would be prideful if I didn’t. How ironic. Pride is so easy to fall under. Especially when you are around someone who may not be as mature in his spiritual walk as you.  Satan wants Christians to think that because as we encounter “baby” Christian there is nothing to learn from them. That’s false. Everyone that is a Christian has the Spirit of God within him so to claim that person’s knowledge valid or invalid is wretched of us [Christians].

For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world. 1 John 2:16

Prayerlessness: Being in Prague for the summer made me realize how much I truly don’t pray enough. Everyday in summer our team came together and prayed. As we walked to the university, we would prayer walk the whole way. Entering the cafeteria, I’d have to pray in order to be successful. I feel like prayer is very underestimated. Prayer is our connection line to the Creator of the world. It’s our communication with him. Why not use it more?

Devote yourselves to prayer with an alert mind and a thankful heart. Pray for us, too, that God will give us many opportunities to speak about his mysterious plan concerning Christ. That is why I am here in chains. Colossians 1:2-3

Unbelief: This one is simple and should be the starting point. Do you believe that God created the world and sent his Son for our redemption? Do you believe that there is nothing you and  I can do in order to gain salvation? Do you believe that God loves you more than anything you can ever imagine or experience on this earth? If not, then I challenge you to seek out these truths. Ask God to reveal these facts to you. He will answer. Actually, he will blow your mind.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. Ephesians 2:8-9

{found here}

I hope you follow me along this journey of Breaking Free from the world’s chains. I challenge you to totally surrender your life to the plan that God has for you:)

 

{To those who don’t know and may want to join, I am studying Breaking Free by Beth Moore}

4 thoughts on “Breaking Free v.1 {baby steps}

  1. Oh, this is a beautiful post. I love your honesty and your open nature. I can certainly relate especially to your first point regarding technology. God should always be the centre and main focus of our lives. Thanks for your encouragement.

    • Its so easy to be consumed by technology because that is what our generation has always known. It’s a very humbling thought to pit aside everything “extra” and rely on Him. BTW, love your blog! You’ve got a new follower. Thanks for the feedback:)

Leave a Reply

