Interview: Mandy of She Breathes Deeply

Who doesn’t like hearing from other bloggers? The cool thing about blogging is being able to chat with ladies from all over the nation. I discovered Mandy’s blog through Top Baby Blogs. I branched from high-fashion blogs to lifestyle blogs that I can actually relate to. The first thing that caught my attention about Mandy is her awesome style and story. With all that being said, I asked Mandy if she would be willing to answer a few questions for me. I am so happy she agreed and can’t wait for you to meet the sweet gal behind She Breathes Deeply.

Introduce yourself:

>>Hi!  My name is Mandy from She Breathes Deeply.  I am a blog obsessed, tattoo wearing, tea drinking, Christian yoga practicing, fashion loving, wife to an amazing man named Kyle, and momma to a beautiful girl named Lily Beloved.

How did you get the title “She breathes deeply”?

>>I have a tattoo on my collar bone that reads in french, “Elle respire profondément.”  It means “She Breathes Deeply.”  The inspiration for it came from a French film I watched a long time ago about a girl coming into her own, so to speak.  She is about to cross a “bridge” in her life to better herself, and the narrator says, “She Breathes Deeply” as she crosses the bridge to a new chapter in her life.  I named my blog “She Breathes Deeply” because of my tattoo, and how it signifies all the new chapters in my life.  Consequently, I recently was certified to teach Christian Yoga, which is all about breathing deeply.  So, in essence the blog name had kind of come full circle in describing my life.

What was the reason you began blogging?:

>>I LOVE to write.  I have been writing stories as long as I can remember.  I have been blogging here and there for years… But I started “She Breathes Deeply” a couple months after I was married two years ago.  At first it was just a personal blog; full of poetry and thoughts… When I found out I was pregnant, it became a journal to remember my pregnancy.  From there it has just evolved to become a spot where I can let write about all the things I love: my faith, my family, and my hobbies; such as fashion and christian yoga.

What were some of your challenges starting out in the blog world?:

>>The biggest challenge for me starting out in the blog world, as well as presently, is the time commitment.  Keeping up a blog is a part time job.  It really depends on the lengths you want to go with your blog.  I call myself a SAHM (stay at home mom), but blogging is definitely a part time job.  But, it is a job I love- so it doesn’t really seem like work.  The challenge is just finding the time being a new mom.

Were you ever intimidated by the success of other bloggers? If so, how did you overcome it?:

>>Yes!  It is hard not to compete in the blogging world.  But the truth is, we are all individuals with our own personal story.  It would be boring if we all wrote about the same thing.  Success is relative.  I get the chance to write about the things I love, as well as tell people about Jesus… In the end that is all that really matters.

What advice would you give to someone like me that have just started out blogging?:

>>Write out goals for your blog.  What demographic are you trying to reach? Once you decide that demographic, be consistent with what you write.  Be active in the blogging world.  That is one of the best ways to advertise your blog.  Also, write what you “know.”  I think the best bloggers are those who write about where they are in their life presently.  Lastly, be aware that if you write about anything that is “controversial”, you will come across some negativity.  I try to have “tough skin” and “a graceful heart” when it comes to blogging.  There will ALWAYS be someone who disagrees with me.  I cannot let their negativity get to me, but I also do not want to be so tough skinned that I become jaded.  I want to show Jesus, and be an example of His grace no matter what I am writing about.

From a Christian’s perspective, what would you change in the blog world?:

>>Hmm…  It is really hard not to be “politically correct” sometimes.  Yet, as Christians- we simply cannot be quiet about Jesus’ beautiful love- whether it is politically correct or not. If we do not speak- the rocks will cry out!  : )

Will you begin incorporating Lily more in the blog as she gets older?:

>>Of course!  My daughter is the love of my life!  I am excited for when she is older and can read back to all the blogs I wrote dedicated to her during pregnancy and her early years.  I just want her to know how much her momma loves her and cherishes her.

Enough about blogging…

You have a unique, encouraging love story; what would be your advice to the single ladies?:

>>Don’t waste time while you are single.  It sounds silly, but when I was single I wasted SO much time trying to find “mr. right.”  It was all futile, and honestly left me very hurt and jaded.  I met my husband when I least expected to.  I truly believe that he is the only man on this earth I was made to love and be committed to for the rest of my life.  Looking back to before I was married, I could have spent all my single time doing useful things that I love- like writing- instead of spending years searching for someone only God could lead to me.  You can’t rush God…  Until you are ready, and your husband is ready- you will not be meet.  So, why spend so much wasted time looking, while you could be enjoying life serving the Lord and doing all the things he has put in your heart to do!

If you could think of one piece of advice for a relationship what would it be?:

>>This may sound cliche’, but the only thing that can keep a relationship healthy and growing is to put the Lord in the center of your relationship.  Unless the Lord is the very center of your relationship, it will be SO hard to be self-less and understand what true love really is.

What’s a lesson that God has been showing you?:

>>Something the Lord taught me last year is (I feel I must learn over and over again)  learning to be still and know HE is God.  It is such a discipline to just “be.”  Yet, it is SO vital to your relationship with the Lord.  He is God, and we are not.  It works out so beautifully that way, doesn’t it? :)

Now let’s get to know you better!:What’s your favorite guilty pleasure food?

>>Chocolate.  I. cannot. say. no.  Yes, I am that girl. : )

If you could be two animals, what would they be and why?

>>Hmm…  I was a horse lover growing up…  So, maybe a horse.  And I love my fat gray cat.  He has a pretty good life.  Maybe a cat?  :)

What is currently playing on your iPod?

>>Adele 21.  Her voice absolutely AMAZES me.  She is such a talented musician.  And I am a HUGE Sigur Ros fan.  I walked down the aisle to one of their songs when I was married.

What inspires you to keep doing yoga and pushing yourself to that goal?

>>I LOVE feeling strong physically.  I LOVE feeling healthy.  It is hard to be motivated some days to work out, but it becomes easier and easier the more you do it.  Yes, there is also a part of me that wants to lose my extra “baby fat” from pregnancy… but I also want to feel good.

Thank you so much. If you have any closing comments feel free to share it‼

Thank you so much for allowing me to talk to you and your lovely readers!  Feel free to e-mail me at Shebreathesdeeply@gmail.com, or stop by my blog www.shebreathesdeeply.com to say hello!
Love,
Mandy

Now, do yourself a favor and head on over to Mandy’s blog to learn more about her and her beautiful family!!

Hope you’ve enjoyed this as much as I have!

-Kristen

One thought on “Interview: Mandy of She Breathes Deeply

Leave a Reply

