it’s taking over

You are not a human being in search of a spiritual experience. You are a spiritual being immersed in a human experience. -Teilhard he Chardin

I know Friday’s posts are usually on my latest obsessions, but I wouldn’t exactly use that word for what I’m about to describe. There hasn’t been an object that has consume my eyes this week, nor has there been a show, song, or photograph. But there has been a {person}. Not your expected hunk celebrity obsession. No, it’s deeper than that. And she’s not an over the top artsy style icon either. Well, she is a little over the top, but that’s beside the point. I’ve been away from home and family for almost a month now. You are probably thinking one of two things. “You are in college!! No need for being homesick silly girl, besides it’s OnLy a month!” or “Sister..find you some family quick!” I took the second advice. I am heading out friday afternoon to visit my beautifully, wild aunt in New Orleans. For those who don’t know where that is, it’s only about an hour away from campus versus the two-hour drive back home. I would love to go back home but I’m oober busy this weekend so I just have time for a quick trip. If I can’t see my mom, i’ll resort to someone who is almost the same, my Genna. My mom said she is able to slip away and stay with us Friday and Saturday which would be AMAZING. An all day shopping trip in the French Quarter followed by Louisiana cuisine, YUM! I introduce to you, Genna.

{In my family, the nieces and nephews don’t use the word aunt. We all have nicknames for each other. For instance, a normal niece would say “Aunt Glenda” but I say “Genna”. When I was little, I couldn’t pronounce Glenda so that’s how Genna came about. Another nickname Genna and I had for each other was “Fuzzy head and little Fuzzy head”. You can guess from these pictures how that came about}

I am never the type to get home sick. But sometimes it’s comforting being under your parents roof knowing that there  aren’t screaming girls running down the hall in towels, instances of being locked out of the building because I forgot my card-therefore not being able to eat, or just the fact that I can do my laundry..for free. Little things like that make me miss home. Then I think about why I like being here and doing what I love {art}, branching off into my form of independence, being a light to a dark campus, and that little place known as Death Valley, where a pig-skin values above any ruby or diamond.

Leave a Reply

