My fuel {Agape}

John 14:20

On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.

I was driving around today and I saw a {in my opinion} crazy billboard. It was a picture of a guy sitting on a couch alone with a cat rubbing against his leg. I was confused by the picture so I read the quote underneath it. It said “Fill the void. Adopt a cat”. Hmmm that didn’t help my confusion much. I understand what the point of the billboard was but I think they went about it the wrong way. In my opinion, a feline will not fill the void most people experience.

I’ve been reading the book “Mere Christianity” by C.S Lewis and it has really opened my eyes to a variety of things. It has opened my mind to what free will actually is and why God gave it to us. It’s given me a different view on a “good” and “bad” situation. But most importantly, it has shown me what God has actually done for me and why our relationship to him versus the relationship of an animal with him is so significant. I finished the last chapter with this quote by C.S. Lewis,

God design the human machine to run on Himself. He Himself is the fuel our spirits were designed to feed on..God cannot give us happiness and peace apart from Himself, because it is not there. There is no such thing.

This really amazed me. God made us. We are His creation no matter how hard we try to run away. That’s why we are not complete nor do we feel complete until He is in our lives. He is the only one that could possibly fill the void so many people find themselves having. This verse in Colossians explains it perfectly,

So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority. -Colossians 2:10

If a child grows up without any attention from his/her parents, they find themselves trying to fill the emptiness. Whether they search for it in love or other things, bottom line they are trying to fill the hole they have. In the same way, we are God’s children except he is not the only neglecting us, we are the ones running from him. Whether you want to admit it or not, you run. I run. Everybody runs from God, until they realize that he is not a God that is waiting to strike you down but rather he is a God with his arms wide open.

{Excuse the alcohol comment, but I couldn’t help but throw a creed acoustic performance in here}

I give that visual often. A God with open arms. That vision hits me so significantly because for so long I was looking for acceptance in all the wrong ways. I mean who hasn’t been through that stage. I ran away as fast as I could, but just as fast as I ran away, once I hit my wall I ran back and collapsed in His arms.

I don’t act the way I do to earn God’s love because He can’t possibly love me anymore than He already does. I act the way I do to show a watching world what and who my priorities are. Stop running away. Instead run towards Him and accept the grace and love He has already given. It just has to be accepted.

That’s agape.

Leave a Reply

