Faith of the Roman soldier

Journal entry from today. [Play the video below while reading this]

Luke 7:1-10

“1 When Jesus had finished saying all this to the people, he returned to Capernaum. 2 At that time the highly valued slave of a Roman officer was sick and near death. 3 When the officer heard about Jesus, he sent some respected Jewish elders to ask him to come and heal his slave. 4 So they earnestly begged Jesus to help the man. “If anyone deserves your help, he does,” they said, 5 “for he loves the Jewish people and even built a synagogue for us.” 6 So Jesus went with them. But just before they arrived at the house, the officer sent some friends to say, “Lord, don’t trouble yourself by coming to my home, for I am not worthy of such an honor. 7 I am not even worthy to come and meet you. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed. 8 I know this because I am under the authority of my superior officers, and I have authority over my soldiers. I only need to say, ‘Go,’ and they go, or ‘Come,’ and they come. And if I say to my slaves, ‘Do this,’ they do it.” 9 When Jesus heard this, he was amazed. Turning to the crowd that was following him, he said, “I tell you, I haven’t seen faith like this in all Israel!” 10 And when the officer’s friends returned to his house, they found the slave completely healed.”

 

I want Christ to say that about me. No matter how the world influences me to feel I want to have full faith in God. I know through hardships and trials God is there. He has a much bigger plan than I can even comprehend. He has my life in the palm of his hand, completely planned out. So why do I worry about petty things such as school and relationships? God has planned the best for me and wants me to live the best life for His glory. If he wants me in a specific relationship He would have me there. God’s timing and control is far better than anything I can imagine or attempt to have. With that being said.. I WILL praise him in trials and hardships. In my brokenness and darkest hour, I will lift His name higher than my worries and minuscule thoughts. In my victories, I will thank Him. Why would I claim to have faith that could move mountains if I lose faith when things don’t go my way? Shouldn’t my way be the ways of God? If that is the case I should rejoice in everything because my life is in God’s control therefore everything that is happening is God’s chosen path for my life. I will praise Him in advance.

Try lifting His name through trials, let Him completely rock your world and thought process. Be free in Christ, He bore your burdens for us to be free; not remain in the traps of this temporary world. Remember we are aliens to this world. This is not our final destination.

Matthew 6:27
“Who of you by
worrying can add a single hour to his life ?”

James 1:2-3
“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

